Under Michigan law, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated or impaired by alcohol or drugs, with a blood-alcohol content over 0.08, or while under the influence of a Schedule 1 controlled substance. The cost and consequences for drunk driving in Michigan differ depending on whether a person's blood alcohol content is below or over 0.17 percent. If the driver has multiple drunk driving convictions, the costs and consequences increase.
Police recently arrested a Michigan man on drunk driving charges after he ran a red light. According to reports, a sobriety test showed that the driver had a blood-alcohol content of 0.11 percent. Investigators also noted that when the arrest took place, the driver had a suspended license. The license suspension was the result of prior OWI convictions. Police say that the man has five prior convictions for similar charges.
Drivers facing their first offense for operating while intoxicated can be subject to the following: fines between $100 and $500 dollars, 93 days in jail, 360 hours community service, a suspended license for 30 days followed by a restricted license for 150 days, vehicle immobilization, ignition interlock, a hefty driver responsibility fee, or six points added to their driver's license. Drunk drivers who blow over 0.17 during a breathalyzer test face even harsher consequences.
While even a first offense can be serious, multiple offenses are even worse. Unfortunately for the man above, police claim that he is currently facing his third offense for operating while intoxicated. In Michigan, a third offense for operating while intoxicated, regardless of when it occurs, is a felony. In such cases, not only do the costs and consequences such as jail time increase dramatically, but the driver will have to bare the stigma of being a felon.
Source: CBS, "Royal Oak Man Charged With Sixth Drunken Driving Offense," February 2, 2013